Just another WordPress.com site

Just a quick rant…

Want to know what I hate? …. That was a rhetorical question, don’t answer!

On Saturday I met up with a friend I hadn’t spoken to for a while. I was quite looking forward to it, a nice little catch-up, shopping trip, etc… So, we were in the middle of a conversation, when I caught a glimpse of my friend rummaging through her bag. “What is she trying to find?” “Is it important?” “Should I stop talking, and ask if she’s alright?” Then…. She pulled out… The dreaded… BLACKBERRY. For any 45+s, no, no I am not referring to those yummy, fruity treats. But, the dreaded hand held device. AKA a mobile phone. The blackberry is not just *any* kind of mobile phone. No, it has this app where you can instant message people for free! Yes, for free! And, you know what people do when they get things for free. They take advantage of them. They abuse them. And this is exactly what my friend did throughout the day. I’d constantly have to pause in the middle of my sentence to find that she was replying to this desperate 22 year old male, BBMing anything with a vagina. WHY? I asked myself this about 57 times that day.

I really don’t understand. If you’re going to ask to meet up with me, but then spend the whole damn time on your phone, why bother?!
I don’t have a problem when people occasionally stop to reply to an urgent text every now and then. But when you’re checking your phone every 30 seconds, then I’m going to find you annoying. It’s just plain rude, if I’m honest. Y U KILLING THE FLOW OF THE CONVERSATION?

Am I the only one this happens to? Or do you find it annoying too?

Leave a Reply

